Day 24

I just want to start this post by saying that I am a very fortunate person. I have had the opportunity to witness so many beautiful and wonderful things. I have see the sunrise and sunset on the beach more times than I could count. I have sat in front of the ocean and taken in all the vastness of it. I have witnessed those sparkling glow in the dark parasites that sparkle at night along the shoreline. I have been hiking up beautiful trails and have witnessed a waterfall. Actually, I have drank from that waterfall and played under it and took in life from a natural approach. I have been whale watching and really made myself realize how small we humans really are. I seen sites such as Times Square, the Empire State Building, and Ground Zero. Sites that I could probably sit for hours and never fully take in everything that I see. And no one could deny that Disney’s “the Osborne Festival of Lights” or the Cinderella Castle at Christmas time is not absolutely breath taking the first time you see it.

I have also been to many places in Germany so far. I’ve been to Werne, Lünen, Dortmund, Berlin, Müenster, and now Köln (Cologne for us english folks). I have seen truly amazing things in every place I have been. However, stepping off the train and walking out of the station, I never imagined myself experiencing what I did. I don’t know if it was because I did not expect it so soon or if it was my ignorance about the dome, but I have never in my life had an experience such as this. There is a church called, the Dom, and it is the MOST BEAUTIFUL thing I have ever seen in my entire 22 years of living. I took one step and as soon as I saw it stopped dead in my tracks, gasped, jaw ajar, and I think I lost my breath. The five of us girls just stared at each other for a couple of minutes whispering oh my god, over and over. We didn’t even move for ten minutes , because of the rawness we felt with it, all we did was stand and look at it dumbfounded. I took thousands of pictures, but really… None of these pictures could do it justice. Even google images cannot do this building justice. Trust me, I have already looked to compare. The building started being built in the 1200s…. 1200s!!! And wasn’t completed until the 1800s. 600 years to build this church. It is a gothic style building which may make it more beautiful. And for 1.5€ you can take the thirty minute climb of 533 perfectly spiral the entire way up stairs to the viewing platform. No, not 533 total. 533 stairs up and 533 stairs down. 1066 beautifully small stairs altogether. I’m talking itty bitty, the walls are so close together I can reach my hands out and touch both walls at the same time with just my elbows being bent, sharing with the people coming down, half dipped stairs in from millions of people going up and down all the time, only lit from the windows… Staircase. Thank god I ride my bike every day and have to walk up four flights of stairs or I would have never made it. I actually found it quite easy for the long climb. And it would’ve been worth it even id it wasn’t. The view was unbelievable. Spectacular. Breathtaking. I could’ve stayed up there for hours. This building was truly a beautiful place to see.

We also got to see more of Köln. We walked up and down the Rhine river and got to see the historic district…. Absolutely beautiful. The building are all different colors and the ground is cobblestone and everyone has lights everywhere. We even got to tour the chocolate factory/museum! SO COOL!!!

Though I spent 44€ on a train ticket I later realized that I could’ve spent 10€ on… It was the most appreciated and awe inspiring place I have ever been to. Tschüss Köln, I hope to
see you again one day.

IMG_1556.JPG
The dome lit up!

IMG_1561.JPG
The view, 533 stairs up!

IMG_1560.JPG
Historical old town on the Rhine!
The dome up close!

IMG_1564.JPG

2 thoughts on “Day 24”

Leave a Reply

