Day 2

Today I woke up without any trouble! Aha jet lag! It was a very fun and exciting day! When I woke up for breakfast I had a German roll with Nutella and tap water. Here, they drink carbonated water or sparkling water. All with “de bubbles” so tap or still water is very strange to them. But nevertheless the breakfast was delicious.. I mean Nutella! Yum! Then we went to school by bike! Everyone rides bikes here so they even have a basement garage where everyone parks their bikes!! So so cool! School is very different here. First school starts at 7:55! Then you have 90 min class and then a 25 min break. Then you have another 90 min class. And then a 20 minute break. And then you go to a 45 min class with a 5 min break. And another 45 min class with an hour lunch break. And then back for one more 90 min class. That totals 5 classes a day but some people only have 3 classes so they can just come and go! And it is block scheduling so they take more schedules. It works so well! And high school is grades 5-12. So there are a lot more students. I also learned that there are three types of schools. Each school is leveled by ability. The smartest students go to one school and so forth. The school I teach at is considered the “smartest” school meaning that they have the opportunity to go to a university the next year. If you do not go to a “smart” school you cannot go to college and must go off to the work field. I believe that this is why school kids are so much more respectful and they really want to learn. Instead of raising their hand they raise a finger. Learning becomes more of a privilege here. I had two classes today. My first class was a younger group. They are learning compare and contrasting with words like more and most. I was so impressed with them. They spoke such good english. It was kind of funny because when they spoke they had somewhat of an British accent! I even got to talk to a few in English. They had so many questions. They all wanted to know what movies I liked, if I knew movie stars, what food I eat and so forth. It was a lot of fun getting the chance to talk to them. They are a lot like the fifth graders I have at home! They wear similar clothes and even have the rainbow loom bracelets. My next class was an 8th grade class. They were learning about NYC and how to talk about it in English. After that I had a workshop on how to teach English as a second language! It was so much fun and I got to learn a lot of german! I really might consider taking a language course and trying to teach it as a second language. Then, I had to ride my bike home by self and find my way. It was so much easier than I thought it would be!! I didn’t get lost at all! I met my sisters, Bella and Ellie, and we went to a book store where I bought the first Harry Potter book in german! Then we went back home and I ate a type of German potato salad for a snack, hung out with Bella while she was getting ready and talked to Ellie about American stereotypes. You couldn’t believe how many things she knew. For example, she GUESSED that girls shop at forever 21, Victoria secret and get everything else at Walmart. That I have probably owned like 10 candles/soaps from bath and body. And that I watch tv shows like pretty little liars. It is all SO true! Bella then went off and my sister Ellie,15, and Lotti, 11, and dad, Ralf, ordered Italian which I had the most delicious pizza ever. Again. Thank goodness for fat pants, bike riding, and four flights of stairs. We then spent the rest of the night talking and playing games. Ellie and I spent an hour talking about teen wolf and Dylan O’Brien😍 and then we played games where she won both. We played a Yahtzee game and an aggravation type game. It is hard to believe that I have only been here one day but I am so in love with the city and the culture and my host family. I know that in four weeks, I will not be ready to come home… But for now, Gute Nacht or good night!

IMG_0858.JPG

2 thoughts on “Day 2”

  1. So glad that you are having a great time! The city is beautiful! It is cold here, 35 degrees & calling for snow this weekend. I love reading your blog each day to see how your day is, something I miss terribly. Tell your adopted family thanks from us for all they have done for you. Frozen, Spice Girls, & Pizza- you couldn’t have found a better match! Love& miss you, looking forward to Day 3 tomorrow!

    Like

  2. Looks like you are having a great time! Glad you defeated jet lag so you could enjoy all the time you have there. I like reading your posts so I can live vicariously through you! The school stuff is super interesting! Have fun and see us when you get home!

    Like

Leave a Reply

